Hickman Crowned Eureka Champion As McCullagh Does It Again

With more than 50 cars signing in for the Grand Final of the Eureka Sprintcar Series tonight’s racing at Sungold Stadium, Premier Speedway, Warrnambool always promised to produce and for Rusty Hickman it proved to be a night to remember as he claimed his maiden Eureka Sprintcar Series Champion.

The final 30-lap feature of the 2017-18 Eureka Sprintcar Series was a great race with Corey McCullagh doing enough and dominating the 30-lap final to claim the $5,000 pay day when he led home Luke Dillon, with Jamie Veal filling the final place on the podium, having earlier transferred from the B-Main.

During the night there were ten heats contested with wins going the way of John Vogels (V70), Corey McCullagh (V90), Jessie Attard (N53), Robbie Farr (Q7) and Luke Dillon (S81) in the first round before David Aldersley (V64), Darren Mollenoyux (V52), Chris Rodda (V14), Robert Nicholas (V61) and Adam King (V48) secured wins in the second round of heats.

The C-Main was next on the program and the two drivers to progress to the tail of the B-Main were the impressive Grant Stansfield (VA88) along with Mike Van Bremen (V45), Luke Walker (V67) and Domain Ramsay (V2).

The 15 lap B-Main saw a further six drivers extend their 2017-18 Eureka Sprintcar Series Seasons by another. They were: Jye O’Keeffe (V42), Brock Hallett (S13), Jamie Veal (V35), Ryan Davis (V95), Steven Lines (NQ3) and Bobby Daly (V8).

The 30-lap A-Main was stacked with high end talent, as evidenced by the race long battles that ensured.

The final finishing order for the A-Main was: 1st: V90 Corey McCullagh, 2ND: S81 Luke Dillon, 3RD: V35 Jamie Veal, 4TH: Q7 Robbie Farr, 5TH: V70 John Vogels; 6th: V52 Darren Mollenoyux, 7th: S13 Brock Hallett, 8th: V40 Rusty Hickman; 9th V98 Peter Doukas, 10th: N53 Jessie Attard; 11th: V25 Jack Lee; 12th: NQ3 Steven Lines; 13th: V42 Jye O’Keeffe; 14th: V47 Tim Rankin; 15th: S20 Glen Sutherland, 16th V73 Charles Hunter; 17th V8 Bobby Daly and 18th V95 Ryan Davis.

The Parr Motorsports Sprintcar Track Premiership, saw Jamie Veal leading Darren Mollenoyux by just two points leading into the second to last night of competition.

A DNF in his second heat of the night, certainly put Veal behind the eight-ball in his quest to remain at the point of the Track Premiership standings. A barnstorming run through the field to third now has Veal eight points ahead of Darren Mollenoyux with just the Easter Sunday night finale to be run.

Come the end of the night, with just the third and final round of the Geelong Harley Davidson Easter Sprintcar Trail to be run, Veal on 980 points is the leader by eight points, from Mollenoyux on 972 points and Peter Doukas on 904.

The battle for the $10,000 to win Track Premiership is sure to come down to the A-Main on Easter Sunday night.

A small but talented field of Legend Cars were also in attendance for their Victorian Title.

The heat race wins went the way of Glen Mitchell (41N), Hayden Pascoe (3) and Cameron Jewell (31).

The Legend Car final went the way of Glenn Mitchell, who proved to be too strong for Liam Heaton and Hayden Pascoe.

They were followed home by Graham Keats (75), Clinton McKenzie (18N), John Dennely (74N), Troy Bolton (2A), Ashley Hodak (13N), Cameron Jewell (31N), Steven Caruso (5S), with Matt Elliott (2N) being the only casualty of the final.

The next race meeting at Sungold Stadium, Premier Speedway, Warrnambool will be held on Sunday April 1, 2018 and will feature the third and final night of the Geelong Harley Davidson Easter Sprintcar Trail as well as the Super Rod Cup and a Massive Fireworks Display as presented by Cassign.

Tickets and more information are available at

End Release.