Molly Leads Parr Motorsports Track Premiership – But It’s Tight!

Leading into Sunday night’s big night of racing, Darren Mollenoyux trailed James McFadden by fifty points with three rounds remaining of the Parr Motorsports USC Victoria Track Premiership at Sungold Stadium, Premier Speedway, Warrnambool – that would soon change.

With McFadden battling the World of Outlaws in Las Vegas at the weekend, it appeared the battle for the Track Premiership and the $10,000 pay day that will go the of the victor, was set to open-up, with the likes of Mollenoyux, Jamie Veal and David Murcott all in the mix.

What was to transpire was Mollenoyux would take the A-Main on Saturday night picking up a further 150 Track Premiership points for his trouble, while runner up Jack Lee would collect 146 points and a bonus 4 points for the most laps led in the 30 lap feature event.

As Mollenoyux greeted the checkered flag both Veal (114 points) and Murcott (116 points) were left to rue what might have been, had they not been forced to watch from the in-field having both crashed out on lap seven.

Corey McCullagh despite having to make the Main event via the last chance B-Main, a then failing to complete the entire A-Main remains in contention for the Track Premiership as he currently sits 78 points in arrears of Mollenoyux with two nights remaining.

Steven Lines despite being a non-starter on Sunday night also remains right in the battle for the $10,000 prize prior to Sunday his previous worst points haul was 104 back on the first night of the Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic – he currently sits third on 790 points, just 48 adrift of Mollenoyux.

With all drivers being afforded the luxury of dropping their worst round of the season from their final points tally, it is well worth noting that Darren Mollenoyux has contested every event at Sungold Stadium thus far this season and his worst points haul is 126 – the equivalent of a 12th place A-Main finish!

The current top 10 in the point standings are as follows:

1. V52 Darren Mollenoyux 964 points – 126 points (worst round)= 838 points.
2. V35 Jamie Veal 802 points – 0 points = 802 points.
3. W3 Steven Lines 790 points – 0 points = 790 points.
4. V88 David Murcott 774 points – 0 points = 774 points.
5. V90 Corey McCullagh 858 points – 98 points = 760 points.
6. W17 James McFadden 738 points – 0 points = 738 points.
7. V47 Tim Rankin 678 points – 0 points – 678 points.
8. V70 John Vogels 736 points – 84 points = 652 points.
9. S45 Jake Tranter 646 points – 0 points = 646 points.
10. V17 Dennis Jones 690 points – 54 points = 636 points.

So, with two nights of competition remaining, and a host of drivers still in with a chance of claiming the Parr Motorsports Track Premiership and a maximum of 154 points to be garnished by any one driver on any given night, plus the anticipated changes in certain drivers’ worst rounds, this is going to be one battle that won’t be decided until Easter Sunday night.

The next round is set down for decision as a part of the Grand Final of the Eureka Garages and Sheds Sprintcar Series on Saturday March 25, 2017.

Tickets are available on-line via or can be purchased at the gate on race night.

End Release.