Easter Trail Excitement at Sungold Stadium

A cracking field is set to assemble on Easter Sunday night at Warrnambool’s Sungold Stadium for the final round of the 34th Easter Sprintcar Trail presented by Cassign. Almost 60 Sprintcars have registered their intentions to compete for the $5,000 first prize while it’s a distinct possibility one driver could also be in the running for a further $10,000 bonus should he or she sweep all three rounds!

In addition to an already bumper lineup the very popular Super Rods return as support to the Sprintcars while a monster Fireworks display will also be a major part of the evenings activities.

A star studded entry list is locked and loaded while the defending event winner is South Australian veteran Trevor Green who stunned everyone with his all the way victory in last season’s weather soaked Easter Trail round when he defeated local ace Jamie Veal and South Australian speedster Danny Pestka. All three are among the entrants for Sunday night’s Sprintcar spectacular!

Securing the feature win may be a tall order when you consider the depth of talent that will make this year’s Easter Sprintcar Trail one of the most talent rich in recent memory with a strong mix of youth and talent on display.

James McFadden has never won a round of the Easter Trail at Warrnambool but considering he is a two time and current World Series Sprintcars champ, twice and current Australian Sprintcar champion plus having won the last two New Year’s Day Speedweek rounds at Warrnambool, he can be excused!

J-Mac’s enormous talent will be on display this Sunday night while he will attempt to add to his eight feature wins this summer, two of which have come at Warrnambool. McFadden also leads the Parr Motorsport / GF1 chassis Sprintcar track championship at Warrnambool and will be keen to keep his nose in front with two rounds of the track championship remaining.

Despite McFadden’s impressive record at the ‘Bool, Mount Gambier’s Steven Lines has won two of the last three Grand Annual Sprintcar Classics, won the last two Sprintcar track championships at Warrnambool and won the 2011 Easter Trail round just for good measure.

Lines also enters this weekend’s Easter Trail as the overall champion and he was in the running for the 10K bonus last season following stunning wins at Avalon and Mount Gambier before persistent rain hampered Warrnambool’s final round ensuring conditions weren’t conducive to passing. Lines would eventually finish the final fourth while missing out on the 10K he still did more than enough to secure the overall Easter Trail honours which again this season will carry $3,000 for first, $2,000 for second and $1,000 overall.

There is no doubt that Lines and McFadden are the ‘men to beat’ in Australian Sprintcar racing and both will be in action at Warrnambool on Sunday night.

South Australian 21 year old Danny Pestka was leading the Sprintcar track championship entering the New Year’s Day Speedweek round following a brilliant run of consistent results that saw him on the podium at Warrnambool more often than not. Since then, the emerging star has gone on to Rookie of the Year honours with World Series Sprintcars in a season that has captured a number of impressive podium results.

Albury’s Grant Anderson returns to Warrnambool following a limited schedule yet his strong results have been impressive to date. A number of podium finishes have highlighted his season however Warrnambool is a place that’s been kind to ‘Ando’ in years gone by and he will be keen to finish the season strongly.

Easter wouldn’t be complete without Max Dumesny in the field and while this Australian Sprintcar legend has won a staggering 31 rounds of Easter in his stellar career, it was Warrnambool’s round in 2007 that saw him last in victory lane at the Trail.

Max went a whopping 14 years straight from 1984 with one or more round wins at Easter and even more impressively it was only 1998 and 2003 that saw him miss a round win between 1984 and 2007!

Even if you combine the great Garry Rush with his 12 Easter wins and Robbie Farr’s 13, they still don’t get near Max’s 31!

Joining Max, Lines and Green, the only other Easter Trail round winner in the field is Tasmanian Shaun Dobson who captured Mount Gambier’s race a couple of seasons ago.

Local heroes Darren Mollenoyux, Jamie Veal and Johnny Vogels will be joined by Queensland’s Brent Aprile and Allan Woods, New South Wales trio Jackson Delamont, Stephen Lynch and Jeremy Cross plus a host of Victoria and South Australia’s best Sprintcar stars.

Fans are also reminded that an open ‘Pit Party’ will be held between 2 and 3pm on Easter Sunday ensuring the fans get a chance to get up close and personal with the drivers and crews before Sunday night’s racing gets underway.

For more details phone General Manager David Mills 0408 529 625

Website –