In December 2015 the Premier Speedway Club, Warrnambool scheduled Maxs Race in honour of Speedway Legend  Max Dumesny for the very first time. Max was born and bred in the Warrnambool area (Nullawarre) and spent many years of his youth at Premier Speedway before becoming one of the fan favourites each and every time his familiar V5 Sprintcar hit the track.

Being a three-time Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic Champion, and a seven-time World Series Sprintcars Champion, Max was truly deserving of this honour. Dumesny has also claimed an amazing 32 career Easter Trail round victories, of which 11 have been at Premier Speedway, Warrnambool.

In March 2019 Max Dumesny was inducted into the Australian Motorsport Hall of Fame alongside fellow Motorsport greats Hope Bartlett, Ray Fisher, Eric Hinton, Evan Green, Larry Ormsby, Allan Horsley, Stefan Merriman, Phil Crump, David Fellows, Marcos Ambrose, Craig Lowndes and Alan Jones.

Since its inception in 2015 the winners of Maxs Race have been:

2015  Jamie Veal
2016  Jamie Veal
2017  Darren Mollenoyux
2018  David Murcott   
2019  Grant Anderson
2020  Postponed (COVID-19)